A new component of this blog is going to be the “things I wish my students knew.”

Lesson one: your teachers say and do stupid stuff too. We try very very hard to help it, but we’re human. The magic is that we’re older, so we’ve done way more of them and we know how to handle ourselves.

I have two stories for you.

The first takes place last February. My car, being on the same battery it started with, occasionally did not like to start unless forced to do so. This particular Sunday, Rilla really did not want to start.

So, I called my friend J to see if she would come jump start my car. Our (paraphrased) conversation is below:

Me: “Can you come jump my car?”
J: “I think you should wait to take it to the dealership and find out what’s wrong with it.”
Me: “I know what’s wrong with it. The battery is dead.”
J: “But whatever is causing it to be dead could go from your car to mine.”
Me: “Say WHAT?”
J: “Cars have computers, and the virus that’s making your car sick could travel through the jumper cables from your car to mine.”

She teaches science :D.

The other story for today takes place at Cinderella’s Royal table in Disney World. We were having dinner, our group of friends. The princesses were coming around, and when Ariel showed up, she saw my hair and said “Are you a redhead like me?!”

Turning about 5 years old again, I smiled and nodded enthusiastically. (Side note: your teachers were children once upon a time too, and yes, sometimes, we all go on vacation together). Ariel looked at my strawberry colored hair and asked me if I brushed my hair twice a day with a dingle hopper too.

Now, I confess: despite my love of Disney, I haven’t seen the Little Mermaid in years. And I really didn’t remember too clearly what exactly a dingle hopper was. So, going off my (erroneous) assumption that dingle hopper was “shell,” I said: “Well, we live in Kansas so dingle hoppers are hard to come by.”

Ariel, so well trained, did not bat an eye. After we got our picture and she left, my friends oh so kindly informed me that dingle hopper is not, in fact, shell, but fork.

shame-600x450

